Dear Demented Dexter

on

Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, #1)Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“I’m not sure what I am. I just know there’s something dark in me. I hide it. I certainly don’t talk about it, but it’s there always, this Dark Passenger. And when he’s driving, I feel alive, half sick with the thrill of complete wrongness. I don’t fight him, I don’t want to. He’s all I’ve got. Nothing else could love me, not even… especially not me. “

I’m not that big on crime investigation novels (except perhaps Sherlock) but I started reading this because the TV series is coming to an end (for now at least) and I do not regret reading it.
I like TV Dexter, although I liked him more at the beginning when he was raw and honest with himself, with who he is, and this book brings forth that Dexter. He is a killer who only kills those he deems deserving of being killed (at least according to his code). At the opening of the novel we see Dexter as a cold and calculated, rational vigilante – meting out justice in an unjust world. Events in the novel, however, make him spiral out of his structured world, force him to abandon his system and act on impulse which almost costs him everything.
The way in which the murderer Dexter chases plays with his mind, the way they both have the Police department chase non-existing trails is fun. It is also fun to see how a different mind works. Lindsay made it so we can almost imagine ourselves in Dexter’s shoes, almost but not quite. We have all been appalled by the injustice around us, and we have all I believe, at least for a short moment, wished a man/woman dead for what they have done. The difference is that Dexter lacks that conscience part in most of us, that part which stops us when we have those thoughts.
Lindsey’s idea of exploring what the absence of this part of us would result in is very entertaining and at the same time proves a fair-ground mirror where our “other” can be seen.
I don’t want to go too deep with my analysis so I’ll stop here. It is safe to say, however that I am sure I will soon return to this series.
Mainly to see what Dexter will be faced next, but also to read more of those internal rants Dexter has in the book where he reflects, in his strange and unique way, on the nature of humans and on his own unnatural condition.
I would love to see more of “dark Dexter”

Dexter’s pearls of wisdom

“Weren’t we all crazy in our sleep? What was sleep, after all, but the process by which we dumped our insanity into a dark subconscious pit and came out on the other side ready to eat cereal instead of our neighbor’s children?”

“I’m a very neat monster.”

“Really now: If you can’t get me my newspaper on time, how can you expect me to refrain from killing people?”

“Another beautiful Miami day. Mutilated corpses with a chance of afternoon showers. I got dressed and went to work.”

View all my reviews

And to wrap up, I leave you with this message from the man himself:

One Comment Add yours

  1. White Pearl says:

    I Love Dexter always and forever 😉

Leave a Reply

