Four Books, One Ring

on

I know it’s been a while, but my muse was really really really silent. I hope this has changed.

So, let’s begin at the beginning – with Tolkien

Since the Desolation of Smaug was coming out in December, I decided that a re-read was in order. So, I dusted off my copies of the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings and set out on a journey.

The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe) The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1)       The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2)       The Return of the King (The Lord of the Rings, #3)

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.”

just like the first time – the book is so much fun 🙂 I love how the mental disintegration of Thorin is shown and how much Bilbo grows during his “quest”. I won’t talk about all the lessons one learns between the pages of this book or the metaphors or stuff like that – but let’s face it – we first read it because of the dragon!

dragon

and for the “thoughts” from the book, here are some:

“There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.”

“It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him.”

“A safe fairyland is untrue to all worlds.”

“So comes snow after fire, and even dragons have their endings.”

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The journey through Middle Earth continues

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

and the best sentence in the book – “I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One thing that struck me on the re-read of this book is how much better Ents are in the book than they are in the movies.
And as before, and as with the movies, this is my favourite part of the trilogy.

“There is some good in this world, and it’s worth fighting for.”

“Fair speech may hide a foul heart.”

The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There’s not much to say about this thing, except that I love Faramir and Eowyn’s story. There should be a continuation of that.
Also – there should be a “Further adventures of unlikely friends – the Gimly and Legolas story”. I’d read it.

“What do you fear, lady?” [Aragorn] asked.
“A cage,” [Éowyn] said. “To stay behind bars, until use and old age accept them, and all chance of doing great deeds is gone beyond recall or desire.”

“How do you pick up the threads of an old life? How do you go on, when in your heart, you begin to understand, there is no going back? There are some things that time cannot mend. Some hurts that go too deep…that have taken hold.”

“It is useless to meet revenge with revenge; it will heal nothing.”

 

As for the Desolation of Smaug – it did disappoint a bit, what with all the added things (inter-species romance!), but visually the movie was fun.

In addition to this there’s also one more thing – Thranduil (a bit caricature- like, but damn, he’s pretty)

by the talented evank on deviantART
by the talented evank on deviantART

 

As my good bye till next time I leave you with this excellent example of a greeting:

“May the hair on your toes never fall out!”

Leave a Reply

