Israeli spies and a different Mr Darcy

on

the Kill ArtistThe Kill Artist by Daniel Silva

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The thing that I love about Silva’s writing – no bullshit digressions. Simply a spy novel, with just enough background info scenes for each relevant character and each of those scenes are there for a reason!
I really needed something fun, easy to read but at the same time intriguing! And I got it.
This man writes about the cities these characters visit like a person who’s lived there all their lives. You see parts of those cities you never knew existed, but he presents them as a side note, not as a massive pages-long digression. Just enough to interest you and to last you until the character arrives at the place they set off for.
And even with the “spy stuff” he is basic in a good way. There’s a scene where Gabriel is trying to “bug” this guy’s apartment and he doesn’t wax poetically about the intricacies of setting up a perfect complete surveillance. He goes in, changes the old phone with the new one with the bug in it, disconnects the cord of the receiver to the phone because the new one would feel too new, and moves on!
The book is interesting, fast paced, and fun.
And another plus for this book – the plot is not so complicated that you have to make notes just to keep up with who is following whom or shit like that.
Go read it!

 

before-i-go-to-sleepBefore I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Before I start with the (short) review I need to state that I watched the movie before I started reading this book.
I spent the last year seeing this book all over my town – at newsstands, in bookstores, in libraries and finally at the cinema on the movie poster. So, I watched the movie and was really really surprised by the sequence of events, and left speechless at the culminating scene (won’t mention more – spoiler!).
So I started reading this book with the characters already in my head, which was both a good thing and a bad thing. Good thing because of Mark Strong, a bad thing because the characters in the book are not really the way they are presented in the book, but I lived through it.
One thing bothered me a lot in the book – the abrupt ending of the relationship between Christing and DrNash. I mean she mentions him, but that’s it. In the last 60odd pages, he’s just gone. After the presence he had in the first half of the book and the influence he’s had on her life it just seems strange.
There are some inconsistencies, there are some strange moments when one is left asking oneself “D fuck”, but that might just be me and my life. I mean, I’m not a person with too many friends, but it turns out that this person has even less friends than I do – she has only one friend.
Also, I can’t really judge the (ex)husband for not keeping better track of his (ex)wife – I’ve never gone through what they went through.
The other problem I have with this is the lack of care from the medical professionals – the woman can’t remember a thing and they let her go away (with a stranger?!?!) Perhaps I’m naive in thinking that this does not (or at least should not) happen.
Well, let’s hope I never find out on my own.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

