ScienceFiction?

on

more like SentimentalFiction!

I’ve been wanting to write a review of Interstellar for a while now, but real life got in the way. When I saw this today,

I got the inspiration to write again!

Ok, so let’s start things off by saying that I really love SF movies, I also love romantic movies, I love movies with a twist, and of course I’m not averse to watching C.Nolan’s movies… So this should have been it for me, right?

int

Well, it most definitely was not my cup of tea. Like I said, I love a good SF movie, but when you mix it up with romantic clap-trap, that’s where I draw the line.

The whole thing of the fate of the world depending on a sudden appearance of a wormhole, ok, I can accept that. The fact that the only savior of the world remaining is a middle-aged farmer, ok maybe (I won’t go into the G-force things and physical requirements of space travel). I can even close one eye at the singularity talk (I’m not an astrophysicist so, ok), although I’ll leave this Carl Sagan quote here

“Black holes collect problems faster than they collect matter.”

But when a SCIENTIST on board the spaceship starts SPEWING shit about “ooooh I really really really want to see my boyfriend… LOVE will save us… screw the rest of the world, I want to get laid…” that’s where I almost stopped watching the movie.

Hindsight being 20/20 perhaps I should have stopped there, because then I wouldn’t have seen the “Nolanian twist” towards the end:

…. It was us all along! WE sent the wormhole… It was Matthew’s character who sent the coordinates to himself… (paradox anyone?) … it was him who sent the data from the singularity by MORSE CODE!? (do you know how long it takes you to dot-dash anything, let alone the amount of data necessary to solve an equation?!?!? it’s not like he was dot-dashing a simple sentence!)

To repeat, I like romantic movies and in life Love is a true cosmic force, but as anyone who’s ever tried to solve a more complex equation would tell you, love does’t really help you, unless of course it’s love of equations, in which case – LOVE ON!

The thing with SF for me is that it shows us the power of science multiplied by human reason and science. There are moments in SF where a bit of Love (and other feelings) can be beneficial. Case in point is another movie with M.McConaughey – Contact.

rfwoyqpndgwew49ytoxpbtots1f-interstellar-christopher-nolan-s-movie-shows-kubrick-s-2001-casts-long-shadow

 

This is the movie which uses the love Jodie Foster’s character has for her father (and the inextricable connection of him and her life in science) as a medium through which the contact between civilizations is established.

But one has to remember that Contact was based on a masterpiece written by one of the most widely influential astrophysicists of the end of the 20th century – Carl Sagan. I was a pre-teen when I first watched his Cosmos and it made me fall in love with science. He explained everything in a clear and rational way in his TV programs. And the same happened in his book. I read it a couple of years ago and I fell in love with maths again.

The plot is so clear and yet so intricate. The main character is so unlike us that she reminds us of who we really are. She loves science the same way one might love a child – the numbers grow and develop in her head like living things.

Sagan in his book finds the perfect space for love:

“For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love.”

And here is what Nolan’s movie lacks – clarity of purpose. It can’t decide whether it’s a science fiction movie, an almost-apocalyptic movie or a daytime family drama.

And the plot twist (it was us all along) just serves to remind us of all the other times he’s done the same thing (beating a dead horse seems be what gets Nolan off).

Now, if you’re in need of seeing something of the SF persuasion and are in desperate need of McConaughey, (re-)watch Contact, or better yet, READ THE BOOK!

and remember

Tk1hJMX

Leave a Reply

