How to survive infinity…

This week didn’t really start off well. I mean, it began with the news of the passing of David Bowie. That was a dick move, universe, truly.

db

But as we all know from Young Frankenstein, it could be worse, it could be raining (and of course, it has been raining tonight, with hale, no less).

So this depressing news and some personal things things that happened these last two days made me reach for the things that have always been there for me – my books. When I’m feeling blue I usually reach for my old friends (Austen, Gaskell, Bronte, Yeats, Ujević…) but for some reason tonight I reached for the last Terry Pratchett book that I’d finished, incidentally the first book I’d read this year – Pyramids .

6567832

It looks like the universe was right to guide me to this book, because there are some great thoughts there that somehow spoke to me in this late hour.

Terry (yes, we’re on first name basis) told me tonight that he knew what my problem was:

“The trouble with life was that you didn’t get a chance to practice before doing it for real.”

But after giving me the harsh truth, he made me feel a bit better because he truly believed that despite all this

“the world is the mollusc of your choice.”

He also told me that I should be proud of my ability to make stupid choices and stupid moves. because out of all creatures, people are, at least in this regard, SPECIAL:

“Mere animals couldn’t possibly manage to act like this. You need to be a human being to be really stupid.”

He continued by telling me that perhaps I should look to the noble creature that is the camel when I feel blue:

“A camel […] doesn’t hang around in bars, nursing a solitary drink. It doesn’t phone up old friends and sob at them. It doesn’t mope, or write long soulful poems about Life and how dreadful it is […]. It doesn’t know what angst is.”

And in the end he answered the question from the title of this post:

“we kill it by breaking it up into small bits.”

So, tomorrow (or more precisely, today) I will start breaking up my allotted “eternity” into bits killing the first one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

