The Archipelago of the Surprising – R.I.P. Umberto Eco

on

Today I heard that Umberto Eco died. RIP

There are moments in your life when the right book comes at the right time. It is as if the universe has conspired to make it so. Eco would of course say that this is a load of rubbish, and that you, with your behaviour, have contributed greatly to this book being the ONE and even to this book reaching you.

There are people around me that often mention his Name of the Rose as one of the best novels they have ever read, but that is not true for me. I tried reading it in high school but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. And then one day, while at university, one of my professors mentioned Eco’s Foucault’s Pendulum. So, I went to a used book store and was lucky enough to find a copy. I bought it, went home and started reading. The book had me hooked from the first page! I loved it, I loved the story and it’s intricacies, I loved the crazy plot twists, and the characters who were so strange and yet so familiar.

I loved the abundance of quotes I underlined and the notes I made on the margins.

DSC_5209 DSC_5208

By some strange coincidence (or no coincidence at all) today I read a quote online about the universe screwing with you by sending your the love of your life at the wrong moment. Well, I believe that Eco’s reaction to this would be SCREW THE UNIVERSE! AND SCREW YOU, you blithering idiot! Your life is what you make of it. You have the power to change the course of your life. Your fictions can even force the reality to shape itself to fit them!

and to use his words from the Pendulum to support my point

“You are always born under the wrong sign, and to live in this world properly you have to rewrite your own horoscope day by day.”

and also:

“You don’t fall in love because you fall in love; you fall in love because of the need, desperate, to fall in love. when you feel that need, you have to watch your step.”

So, all of you reading this, grow a set of balls today and say to the universe: “NOT TODAY! NOT ME! SCREW YOU!” and go out there and love and say that you love and be proud of it.

While you decide whether you should do the things I suggested above, here are some quotes from the Pendulum to make you think or laugh, whatever you feel like:

“I believe that you can reach the point where there is no longer any difference between developing the habit of pretending to believe and developing the habit of believing.”

“I have come to believe that the whole world is an enigma, a harmless enigma that is made terrible by our own mad attempt to interpret it as though it had an underlying truth.”

“You live on the surface,” Lia told me years later. “You sometimes seem profound, but it’s only because you piece a lot of surfaces together to create the impression of depth, solidity. That solidity would collapse if you try to stand it up.”

“I was the type who looked at discussions of What Is Truth only with a view toward correcting the manuscript. If you were to quote “I am that I am,” for example, I thought that the fundamental problem was where to put the comma, inside the quotation marks or outside.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anastasia says:

    2016 has been a horrible year for readers and music lovers

Leave a Reply

